Your Email address
Receive Banner Elk Magazine in your email
Your city or town
Ron Johnson, Publisher
About Ron Johnson
ron@bannerelkmagazine.com 
Cell: 828-260-5112

Sugar II has come back to town!
Twenty-five years ago my Sugar, a fabulous Golden Retriever, was stolen. Today a new Sugar is back in town. Above photo: Sugar attends the First Annual Pet Egg Hunt!
See more Sugar pictures
and comments from readers
Copyright 2014-2013-2012
All Rights Reserved Ronald Tee Johnson
Banner Elk Magazine Online, The Banner Daily,
The One Stoplight Town. Breathe our air.  Live longer. The Banner Daily. The People. The Beauty. The Spirit. 
Make the move of your life.>To Banner Elk, NC. The Come Visit & Stay Forever slogan
created by Ron Johnson October 13, 2012 and was donated to the Banner Elk Chamber of Commerce

Photos and videos cannot be reproduced for commercial
use without the permission of Ron Johnson, Publisher

If you would like to use one of our photos or videos for your Facebook,
Twitter or Linked In, please give a credit to: Banner Elk Magazine.Thanks!

Daily
Issues

Wednesday, April 23
Do ya think you should
wear a hat today?

Tuesday, April 22
Bet you don't know what
today is in Banner Elk?

Monday, April 21
How long will this
beautiful weaher last?

Friday, April 18
A transmission error.
First in three years. Most
folks got it on Saturday morning, however

Thursday, April 17
Cut a dozen cherry
tomatoes with one slice

Wednesday, April 16
You could have heard a
pin drop at Kiwanis yesterday

Tuesday, April 15
Go to bed before 10pm
and you'll never know

Monday, April 14
Saturday - A day like no
other in Banner Elk!

Friday, April 11
EggTastic?

Thursday, April 10
Are we still lookin'
good for Saturday?

Wednesday, April 9
Just how perfect will Saturday
be for the big events?

Tuesday, April 8
Banner Elk average
summer temp: 74-degrees.
Charlotte, NC 89-degrees

Monday, April 7
Asparagus or quarter
pounder tonight?

Friday, April 4
Is this a great TGIF or what?

Thursday, April 3
Do not look at
Wednesday's forecast

Wednesday, April 2
Fabulous Volunteers!

Tuesday, April 1
Town Hall today 5-6
Mayor Lyerly recognition day

Monday, March 31
What blew down in 92.5 winds?

Friday, March 28
Rainy day message from
Australian Cattle dog, Mikah

Thursday, March 27
Only 83 until summer!

Wednesday, March 26
Only one more day!

Tuesday, March 25
Only one more day!

Monday, March 24
When will the snow begin?

Friday, March 21
Good news from
Cannon Memorial Hospital

Thursday, March 20
Spring today-Snow On Tuesday?

Wednesday, March 19
A comet on the Viaduct?

Tuesday, March 18
Did you want to sleep
in this morning?

Monday, March 17
Considering today
Do you believe 50 and
sunny Thursday?

Friday, March 14
Banner Elk!
Have a great TGIF day!

Thursday, March 13
Are you ready to
Spring Into The Mountains?

Wednesday, March 12
Somewhere over the rainbow

Tuesday, March 11
A Love Story

Tuesday, March 11
Today. 4:30pm-6:30pm
A Celebration of the
life of Steve Chandler

Monday, March 10
Celebration of Life
tomorrow 4:30pm-6:30pm

Friday, March 7
A celebration! Tuesday
in Banner Elk!

Thursday, March 6
The People. The Beauty. The Spirit.
More than a slogan in Banner Elk

Wednesday, March 5
Issue Two
Banner Elk mourns the loss
of Steve Chandler

Wednesday, March 5
Issue One
Banner Elk pays tribute
to Steve Chandler

Tuesday, March 4
Wishing Steve Chandler
all the best this morning

Monday, March 3
How long 'til Spring?

Friday, February 28
See who is picking up
trash in Banner Elk

Thursday, February 27
Stay away from
Run Around Sue!

Wednesday, February 26
Banner Elk Kiwanis Club
to help Habitat for Humanity

Tuesday, February 25
Want to laugh out
loud right now?

Monday, February 24
Great weekend and
now for some snow?

Friday, February 21
A new pup in the neighborhood
Sugar born last night at 2am

Thursday, February 20
Don't throw that old bike away

Wednesday, February 19
13 signs you grew
up in Banner Elk

Tuesday, February 18
The 50s are here
and Elvis is alive?

Monday, February 17
50ish for next few days?

Friday, February 14
Who has Rainbow
Roses in Banner Elk?

Thursday, February 13
You did it Banner Elk!
You did it!

Wednesday, February 12
One touch of nature makes
the whole world kin.
-Shakespeare

Tuesday, February 11
SNOW SHOW COMING!

Monday, February 10
Could Wednesday
be the BIG snow?

Friday, February 7
Banner Elk Fire & Rescue
will install up to six smoke alarms
in your home at no charge

Thursday, February 6
Silver and Shiny on Sugar.
Click here to see

Wednesday, February 5
Big snow rumor is bogus

Tuesday, February 4
Banner Elk Duck Dynasty?

Monday, February 3
See the diva sing our anthem
as never before

Friday, January 31
Super Bowl weather in Banner Elk
& NYC? Same?

Thursday, January 30
Free from ice scraper tomorrow?

Wednesday, January 29
What does "si gogglin"
mean in App talk?

Tuesday, January 28
Plop, plop Oh what
a relief it is!

Monday, January 27
When did you first
drive by yourself?

Friday, January 24
Test: How many
days 'til SPRING?

Thursday, January 23
What you talkin'? Minus 4 tonight?

Wednesday, January 22
Exclusive photos
-Kirby & Thunder
in the snow!

Tuesday, January 21
Wind chill minus what tonight?

Monday, January 20
Record today on the slopes?

Friday, January 17
Curly and Buster pass on

Thursday, January 16
It will save lives in Banner Elk

Wednesday, January 15
A "Table Top Snow" today
in Banner Elk?

Tuesday, January 14
What kind of "SnowShow"
is this gonna' be?

Monday, January 13
Is this a great day
in Banner Elk or what?

Friday, January 10
Snow for Winterfest weekend?

Thursday, January 9
60-degree hike by Friday?

Wednesday, January 8
Who's on the slopes
at 84 & 16-months?

Tuesday, January 7
All is well in the
One Stoplight Town

Monday, January 6
Cold? Rub some
Cayenne Pepper on?

Friday, January 3
Coldsunami!

Thursday, January 2
2014
Cold of the decades coming

Tuesday, December 31
First Annual Best of
Banner Elk Awards

Monday, December 30
Snow on the way? Yep!

Friday, December 27
See Ski Sugar Base Cam
on this glorious day

Thursday, December 26
More of this beautiful
weather coming up?

Tuesday, December 24
Christmas Eve in Banner Elk
Christmas Eve snow-
see it coming across Beech

Monday, December 23
Santa bringing snow?

Friday, December 20
Snow flakes Christmas Eve?

Thursday, December 19
The strongest woman
in Avery County?

Wednesday, December 18
Short sleeves tomorrow?

Tuesday, December 17
Who will load chicken
tomorrow at 7am?

Monday, December 16
White Christmas in Banner Elk?

Friday, December 13
Buy a puppy for less than $5

Thursday, December 12
Do you know how to ice skate?
Paul Wylie does!

Wednesday, December 11
Good news! Evie
is coming home!

Tuesday, December 10
5,000 pounds of chicken arrives

Monday, December 9
Parade & Christmas
In The Park videos

Saturday, December 7
Santa's in town!

Friday, December 6
Guaranteed smile!

Thursday, December 5
Umbrella? No!
Long johns? Yes!

Wednesday, December 4
Just BE YOURSELF Saturday

Tuesday, December 3
Will it be chilly or
cold on Parade Day?

Monday, December 2
Just how creative are you?
Be in the Parade Saturday!

Wednesday, November 27
Just how bad a hair
day will this be?

Tuesday, November 26
A Dog Named Beau
by Jimmy Stewart

Monday, November 25
Turkey Day weather:
It's going to be ......

Friday, November 22
The day I escorted
Rose Kennedy to lunch

Thursday, November 21
Our Millpond ducks
ready for "Icy Sunday?"

Wednesday, November 20
This morning you can
help feed a hungry child

Tuesday, November 19
Elk put down - the tragic story

Monday, November 18
Can Cam do it?

Friday, November 15
Let it rain on Table Rock

Thursday, November 14
A rainbow of snow at Sugar

Wednesday, November 13
Sugar Mountain open!

Tuesday, November 12
Banner Elk Polar
Express arrives

Monday, November 11
Veterans Day

Friday, November 8
tgif

Thursday, November 7
"Life Changing" play
from the one yard line

Wednesday, November 6
Who gave $100,000 to help
Avery County kids?

Tuesday, November 5
Could this happen
in Banner Elk?

Monday, November 4
Balmy all week?

Sunday, November 3
Let there be no sorrow

Friday, November 1
Trunk or Treat! Wow!

Thursday, October 31
Halloween! Will Goblins
have to wear rain coats?

Wednesday, October 30
Wind and rain begins
AFTER "Trunk or Treat"

Tuesday, October 29
Was Barton Carroll
amazing last night or what?

Monday, October 28
Live music
Barton Carroll

Monday, October 28
Special Issue

Banner Elk, NC
Friday, October 25
Got Flakes. Got Cold. Got Sun?

Thursday, October 24
"Fuzz Busted!"

Wednesday, October 23
Isn't this special?

Tuesday, October 22
What falls from the sky
at 2pm Wednesday?

Monday, October 21
"Fuzz" is "Fuzz Buster"

Sunday morning
October 20
Winter Weather Predicted

Saturday, October 19
Fuzz wins Woolly Worm

Saturday, October 19
Live from the Woolly
Worm Festival 3:30pm

Friday, October 18
News Flash

Thursday, October 17
New Woolly Worm
service: "Park & Pee?"

Wednesday
October 16
Autumn of the Century
plus four weather forecasts
for this WW weekend

Tuesday, October 15
Woolly Worm
Weather Prediction

Monday, October 14
Oktoberfesterrific

Sunday, October 13
Special Issue
Woolly Worm races
at Banner Elk School

Friday, October 11
Who gave FAF $10,000?

Thursday, October 10
Around Town Photos!

Wednesday, October 9
Who gave $175,000

Tuesday, October 8
Oztastic!

Monday, October 7
Special issue - Lees-McRae
Homecoming

Friday, October 4
Got 'em?
1,200 Woolly Worms needed!

Thursday, October 3
What 74-year-old Banner Elk
tradition is gone?

Wednesday, October 2
Is the Blue Ridge open?

Tuesday, October 1
Let the magic begin!


Tuesday, September 10
Grandfather Home
at BE Kiwanis Club

Monday, September 9
Can you be in five
places at once?

Friday, September 6
How big Beech Bash?

Thursday, September 5
Oh, hum Another fantastic
day in Banner Elk!

Wednesday, September 4
Amish coming to
Woolly Worm


Tuesday, July 9
Music tonight!

Monday, July 8
Reserve now for
Changing of the Leaves
in Banner Elk!

Friday, July 5
Parade-Party in
Park-Pig Roast

Thursday, July 4
478 4th of July event photos

Thursday, July 4
It's a go!

Wednesday, July 3
Free concert at Perry House

Tuesday, July 2
Glory tonight in Banner Elk

Monday, July 1
4 days of the 4th
begins tonight

Sunday, June 30
Special Issue
Banner Elk
Presbyterian Church

Friday, June 28
Kirkin O The Tartans

Thursday, June 27
Wow! 9 events in 4 days!

Wednesday, June 26
Do you have a goat or pig?

Tuesday, June 25
You? In the parade?

Monday, June 24
Who rules Wildcat Lake?

Friday, June 21
Go to bed early tonight

Thursday, June 20
An A-May-Zing day in Banner Elk

Wednesday, June 19
Do you raise 'maters?

Tuesday, June 18
Show up and you're
in the parade!

Monday, June 17
Master Golf
Tourrnament photos

Friday, June 14
Jack Masters kind of day

Thursday, June 13
Only 19 days
until the parade

Wednesday, June 12
Winning at Habitat!

Tuesday, June 11
Habitat annual dinner tonight

Monday, June 10
Being run out of town?

Friday, June 7
Marion & Roy Krege

Thursday, June 6
A loving family

Wednesday, June 5
What ya gonna be on the 4th?

Tuesday, June 4
Vonderosa Landmarks

Monday, June 3
Todd Bush in the sky!

Back to the
top of the page
More than 7,000
event photos
More than180
event videos
Celebrating
Banner Elk, NC
The People.
The Beauty.
The Spirit.
Love On Montezuma Street

Please donate to Feeding Avery Families

125 Farm Rd, Banner Elk, NC 28604

Click here for more about FAF

A Tribute To
Steve Chandler
Your name
More than 3,400 subscribers
in 24 states and 17 countries.
Published Daily Monday - Friday
See all issues below
181 Photos
See the 4-14-14 issue
by Ron Johnson

Click here 19 photos
Banner Elk Kiwanis Club
& Key Club "One Day"
at Banner Elk Cemetery
Click here for
Key Club photos 8 photos

Click here - 13 photos
Kiwanis & Key Club
Sewing "Trauma Dolls"
at First United Methodist

Click here - 20 photos
Breakfast with Bunny
at Banner Elk Cafe

Easter Egg Hunt
Tate-Evans Park
Sponsored by Banner Elk
Tourism Development Authority
and Town of Banner Elk

Album 1 - 24 photos

Album 2 - 24 photos

Album 3 - 12 photos

Album 4 - 11 photos

Album 5 - 57 photos

Click here
Dog Egg Hunt
Tate-Evans Park
Sponsored by My Best
Friend's Barkery

Click here for all Saturday
photo albums